Without you

You talked of contact lenses
compared them to using tampons;
I’d only known you
seven minutes and yet your every word
I hung on.
Your hair freshly red
your mind somewhere else,
your glasses when you needed them
your ambition to be an elf.
The hole in your cardigan,
pulled threads on trousered knees,
I stole tea-spoons for you
and bought beef burgers
covered in cheese.
You enlightened my waking hours
I went to bed happy with the moon,
I slept dreamless, peaceful
for the first time in years
and cared not I had made myself look a fool.

Over thinking you could be interested
in a face only my mother loves;
more than the wind kept us apart
yet I ached for your hand to touch.
I must not fall in love with you
for you ring true as a prayer bowl,
you resonate with the universe
and I am but a mill_stone.
I hope you find what you’re looking for
you deserve a man deep and true;
rest, I lived my whole life
in the seconds I spent
in the sculpture park with you.

© Copyright D. Archer October 2011

3 thoughts on “Without you

    • Thank you very much.

      Should I have stopped there? What about the rest?

      I’ve only been blogging two days and it really lifts my spirits to get any form of feedback.

      Thank You,

      Dave Archer

  1. this is so sad, i felt the pain.

    “I hope you find what you’re looking for
    you deserve a man deep and true;
    rest, I lived my whole life
    in the seconds I spent
    in the sculpture park with you.”

Type something here preferably in English

