Not for Susan

After your recent reprimand
I now know where I fit in;
it is only to walk the dog
and to put out
the re-cycling bins.

On reflection
I remember writing;
“Happy Birthday Susan, Lots of Love.
One kiss from you my darling
will never be enough”;

You studied these words
with one eyebrow raised
and with a scowl that could sour milk
you questioned the amount
of attention I had paid;

It wasn’t the fact
the poem wasn’t long
but it may have been the fact
I got your name
completely wrong.

© Copyright D. Archer October 2011

4 thoughts on “Not for Susan

Type something here preferably in English

