This is how wars begin

Just because you can’t spell
favourite,
neighbour,
colour and
centimetre;
every poem I have to tag twice;

one for you,
one for the Queen,
one to be wrong
and one to be right;
not rite!

Irony is not a metal
you drop two letters at the most;
put them back and acknowledge
what the rest of the world
already knows.

I must take deep breaths now,
relax and read “The Wife of Bath”;
“Bright Star” will calm my soul,
Spike Milligan will make me laugh.

It is my duty
as an English Poet
to make Shakespeare
even greaterer;
now I have to go
I am going with no apologies
out to the Royal National
THEATRE!

© Copyright D. Archer October 2011 

16.10.11 Spot the change. I elevated myself a little too high me thinks.
Thanks to Miss Audrey for making me think.

6 thoughts on “This is how wars begin

  1. LOL I love it, this is really good. Irony is not a metal, but it can be hard.

    I learned English in the UK spelling and I decided that is how I want to write, but wp spellcheck gives me the American correction, and my word spell check keeps flipping back to American English too. Never sure about elevators or lifts either, which to use in what language. So I suppose I too mix the words up .And I never understood the phrase Bunking Holiday but maybe I heard it wrong. 🙂

    Have a nice time in the theater. Theatre. 🙂
    Ina

    • Ina, “Bunking” as I understand it means to stay in your bed (Bunk) instead of doing something else. It is usually applied to “Bunking off…………” work, school etc. Never heard it applied to Holidays though and It is a phrase used often in Yorkshire and especially where I am from.

      Hope this helps a little.

      Dave

  2. It’s funny…if not sad, how many don’t write it well. And navigating on the Internet a lot, I reached the conclusion that foreigners are paying more attention to not spoiling the language, than the native speakers. “not rite”, indeed! I too am a foreigner 🙂
    “It is my duty as an English Poet to make Shakespeare even greater, ” …this phrase I love 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment. Thanks for picking out the Shakespeare reference, I am still in two minds whether or not to change the line to “…….make Shakespeare even greaterer”. Please advise.

      • As I said, I already love this phrase, in my opinion, if you would change it with “….make Shakespeare even greaterer”, I think it would also be a little funny. Still perfect. 😀

Type something here preferably in English

