Spike Milligan. I knew you were ill

I was reading a Spike Milligan
book this morning and
thought I would laugh for
the rest of the live long day;

then I read his poem
“Manic Depression”
and forty three words later
he re-defines in every dictionary written
the real meaning of “Pain”.

© Copyright D. Archer October 2011

Spike Milligan, Actor, Author, Musician, Goon, Genius. My favourite.
This is my humble tribute to a fellow sufferer of depression. He wrote “Manic Depression” whilst in St. Lukes Wing of Woodside Hospital, Pyschiatric Wing1953-4 in December 1960. I urge you to check out his stuff, his books are a rollercoaster of emotions laid out like ( I imagine) his life; page after page, funny poem, laugh out loud limerick, funny anecdote then crashing magnificent lines like “Manic Depression”. I did not know him but I would have given my left leg to spend one hour with him. He played the trumpet, I like the trumpet as well.

3 thoughts on “Spike Milligan. I knew you were ill

    • He was a true rare comic genius, I adore his stuff, he makes me laugh and cry in the same sentence. He is equalled on my laughter scale only when I watch Tommy Cooper. I am now going to YouTube “Jar Spoon Spoon Jar” and laugh my face off for the rest of the day. Thanks for your kind words. Dave

Type something here preferably in English

