The Perfect Panini

Watching children
ten steps behind their mam;
either trying to get in
or trying to get out
of their multi coloured prams;

Mini meanderthals
sausage roll in hand
pigeons pacing behind them
waiting for the crumbs to land;

Sitting next to the fish shop
being stared at by a dog
in the street; eating the best
damn panini I will probably
ever eat.

On the recommendation of a friend I visited a new coffee and deli shop in my home town. Sitting outside at the small table provided me with inspiration for the above poem, the words came easy and the panini went down even better. This is dedicated to Emma and Lee at Baileys Coffee Shop, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, England. We talked about Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath and my other favourite topic: Chorizo sausage. I introduced Emma to “Haiku’s” and “found poetry”. I hope she will write some poems as good as she makes paninis.

© Copyright D. Archer October 2011

One thought on “The Perfect Panini

  1. Brilliant Dave! reading with my eyes ( and not somebody elses-you know what i mean 🙂 ) sounds great in my head and out loud…love it. We really enjoyed meeting you today and glad our little place and panini inspired you to write this lovely little poem 🙂 great stuff- will be working on my Japanese Haiku’s 🙂

Type something here preferably in English

