Cenotaph

When I am gone
heed these words
I do not want to be buried
in the cold with the worms.

Set me on fire
that my soul may fly,
and remember when I made you laugh
not when I made you cry.

Remember me
fat and happy,
caught off guard in photographs,
remember impoverished holidays
and shoes spilling from carrier bags.

Stand tall, tearless,
enunciate,
no broken voice should read these words;
pick a moment when I made you smile
and not the moment
I left this world.

© Copyright D. Archer October 2011

6 thoughts on “Cenotaph

  1. I hope you are NOT going anywhere, at least for a long long time. I need someone to keep spaming me with words of wisdom and funny English spellings and words. I look forward to all your posts.

  2. I agree with Randall… I’m so enjoying what you write.
    And I can relate to this one I think more than anything. Very… true

  3. Really really en-joy-ed this,
    Touch-ed deep in-side my heart
    Dont want to depart!

    Check me and my Haiku out! 🙂
    Lol, I hope it is anyway!

Type something here preferably in English

