An empty chair

They said “One year”,
he said “Two months”,
I said nothing
my heart struck dumb.

He said “Not to worry,
it all will be alright”,
her angry tears spoke volumes
so she hid them in the night.

He said “I’m not afraid”
as he dried her swollen eyes,
He wanted “affairs in order”
hearing this, again she cried.

I sit in the Autumn sun
where he sat with coffee and pipe,
I see nothing but an empty chair
and slow tears against I fight.

Then low from the leaves
I hear his voice that calms my brow;
He says “Not to fear death,
but fear not living, now”.

© Copyright D. Archer October 2011 

One thought on “An empty chair

Type something here preferably in English

