He owns a Thesaurus and a knife

He clicks “Like”
before he reads it
just so he can be
the first;

He commits his crimes behind
skin crawling comments
he likes your profile picture
not your verse;

many like him are
clicking “like” just
because you have
two breasts;
he only reads
the first three lines
not educated enough
to read the rest;

He showers you
with platitudes,
he panders to your needs;
this vampire and his vagary
is insidious in his deceit.

© Copyright D. Archer October 2011

I have been blogging for just over two weeks now and I am very worried about certain comments I see in fellow bloggers comment boxes.

I am a man, I like poetry, some men are men and they do not. They comment in such sugary sycophantic terms it makes my teeth rot and my blood boil; “comments” so vague that you could drive a bus through them, they speak of Knowing your pain and empathising beyond belief, this is the language of the predator, the stalker, those who seek to groom.

I can not, I will not sit back and do nothing. I am warning anyone male or female who is listening to read “comments” in broad daylight both metaphorically and physically speaking.

Poetry is the most cathartic of all art forms, we tag our work with words like “Lust, desire, sex, violence” thinking these innocent adjectives are describing our written work, there are “people” who tag surf these very specific words and then zone in for the feast.

You may call me an alarmist; if I am an alarmist then let the bells ring loud, the Internet is a dangerous, anonymous hiding place.

Do not think me naive enough to think this is a woman specific crime, I know men have been victims and targets, I refer to the danger as a “man” because statistically it is.

If he claims to share your pain ask him what his last menstrual period was physically like.

This is not a victimless crime, these “people” are cutting and pasting long, winding thesaurus thumbed words from their pre-prepared Text files and posting them into your comment box within seconds, seconds! of you publishing your post. Many of them will not contain your name or their signature. Ask yourself how the hell did they type a short story competiton length reply within 0.2 seconds of you posting and publishing?

I am shortly to remove the “Like” option from my blog and will only accept comments that quote lines / phrases of my work back to me. It is my blog and my life. I intend to stay safe and I urge you to do the same. I am beginning to question whether those who “like” just for the sake of it are using this in an unofficial way, a coded way of communicating with the cohorts.

This post will soon be a page on my blog, I intend to list support agencies and their contact details. I am in the process of gathering this information.

If you feel in danger tell someone, ask for a second opinion on the “comments” let someone know you have concerns. Consider the personal details you chose to provide. Re-read the comments, treat it as a study in language, ask yourself questions, consider implementing a “comment” policy where all comments are moderated before being posted. You have a Delete and a SPAM filter please use them more often.

David Archer

 

 

16 thoughts on “He owns a Thesaurus and a knife

  1. What a great idea… a list of support agencies… now I have to go do some research on all of them for all relevant blogs…
    I moderate all “new” comments, accepting comments from people who have been approved before. I may have to rethink this.. but so few people actually comment on anything I write, I don’t feel that far down the trail yet.
    So far I’ve never gotten the stalking bullying that you are talking about… but that just means I’m lucky….

    • Do not censor your work but censor the comments. As a writer / poet you must be able to express yourself. Just raise your “suspicion-o-meter”, your moral radar when reading comments, I agree with you moderate before accepting. Maybe I am a cynical old fart. Dave

  2. I’m clicking like while I still can ;). I appreciate somebody out there watching us! And, yes, I DO have my eyes open.

  3. Are you sure it’s not just random generated spam?

    And be careful, some spam quotes random lines back at you.

    The best thing to do is visit other poetry blogs and leave comments, and they will return the visits.

    • I agree it is a dilema. I am a born cynic but the language used in the comment was truly awful, it was hideously over sentimental and pandering beyond belief. Spam it may be but I have seen his name appearing on other female blog comments. I despise his anonymity and his skin crawling offer of support for her in her hour of need, to contact him privately by phone or email…..ooohh my small fat fingers can’t type fast enough on my BlackBerry. Do not censor your work but please censor your comments.

      Dave

  4. thank you for your post….i think mine are all monitored…but i will second check that fact…since assuming makes an ass out of you and me…thanks again.

  5. Wow! Thanks for this post David. I came to your site after seeing your name on Scott Mitchell’s blog. Very interesting material you write. Heartfelt, funny, profound,…..
    Thanks………for being you…….and for allowing us a sneek peek into your world.
    Lee

    • Thanks for stumbling into my corner of the web. Any fan of Mark Radcliffe can’t be all bad. I enjoyed his Radio show on my drive home from work on many occasions and still listen to him when I can. Did you hear any of his Shirehorses stuff?

  6. A great and accurate observation, Dave. Just found your blog today and enjoying it very much. Thanks for sharing you work with the World Wide Web.
    ~RDS

Type something here preferably in English

