My Seven Seventeen

I saw you smile to yourself
through the window on the train;
you didn’t notice me
smiling at you
through the window
in the rain;

the mist on the glass
it must have been
that blocked your view
of you to me;

it must have been the mist
on the glass that made you miss
the words I asked.

Into your music
with a pleasured look;
you combed your hair
without a brush;

the train pulled first
shunted my chance
into the sidelines;
you departed with the rain
and left me standing
in the sunshine;

So, if your smile
was meant for me
I’ll still be here tomorrow
platform two,
seven seventeen.

5 thoughts on “My Seven Seventeen

  1. you departed with the rain
    and left me standing
    in the sunshine;

    I love this. The imagery as well as the juxtaposition of being in the sunshine with a heavy heart. Thanks for waking me up with a smile.

  2. I don’t know much about poetry, but I do know I like this story. It’s something I almost lost my hope that could be thought or written by a man. This might sound bad. Sorry for that. What I am trying to say is that it’s good to know that men can dream/think/write like this too. Like me.

    “So, if your smile/ was meant for me/ I’ll still be here tomorrow/ platform two,/ seven seventeen.”
    Dreamy.

    P.S Mistakes rather than votes? Hmm…

    • That is my self depracating English sensibility. It is a defence mechanism, I have taken away the choice from you. Bit naughty of me but it is in keeping with the rest if my style. I have two older sisters I thonk that is why I am in touch with my feminine side. Thanks for noticing. Dave.

  3. I have nothing intelligent to say, other than I came back to read this a second time.
    And doing so makes me feel as if I’m there, and I can smell wet concrete, and I have my hands in my pockets.

    • Thank you for digging around my blog. I am always interested in people who take the time to look at my older poems, funny but I still like the smell of diesel and wet concrete at train stations, it always seemed to evoke a melancholic sense of loss in me, of peoples lives going in different directions but lately Ive been seeing that the train also arrives if you just wait long enough.

Type something here preferably in English

