Leave your shoes on

Take off your cloak
leave it outside my door;
you’re in my arms
care for the loss no more;

Let your hair down,
let your mind run free,
breathe within my words
and together; one we will be;

Leave your shoes on
for reasons personal to me;
unpack your life
let me in; let me see;

Burn the cloak
you brought with you
and wear this one I freely give;
burn all the bridges
that stopped you running to me;
my arms;
my soul;
my kiss.

I cannot promise my words
will never hurt you; and this
no man should ever guarantee;
but if you would chance
then we will together find
whatever will be
will be.

© Copyright D. Archer November 2011

 

2 thoughts on “Leave your shoes on

Type something here preferably in English

