My Mathematical Distance

My golden badge
for coming second best
lies buried and I am stripped; teased
cut free from my lifeboat
I slow swim from what I once wanted
toward shores full of need;

Yet just before paradise touched
I am defeated, drowning not waving
I swim back to my two treasures smiling
and watch the fading lustre
of the horizon slowly begin
again;

I am happy in candid moments shared
but the sum of all my fears
is the distance between the lifeboat I have
and the island I want;
raised to the power of three.

© Copyright D. Archer November 2011

One thought on “My Mathematical Distance

  1. “I am happy in candid moments shared
    but the sum of all my fears
    is the distance between the lifeboat I have
    and the island I want;
    raised to the power of three.”

    the yearning for something more, something better, something safer than your lifeboat….I understand the yearning and want. I truely do.

Type something here preferably in English

