1977

Warmed by the sun
three years before the decade changed
in the school-less summer
of my youth
solitary, simply games I played
in childhood abandon
oblivious of you;

I was nine
and you a newborn
you cried at first life
and I at my sunburn
in that my loneliest, longest,
formative summer
you were soundless to me
yet you spoke deeply to your mother;

You grew and loved
often pushed your heart pulled
hardly heard, loud shouted down
but always somewhere making sounds
you cast with care into the stratosphere
knowing decades later
it would be you
I would hear.

© D. Archer March 2012

One thought on “1977

  1. Your style is starting to change and deepen. This has wisdom and feeling. Such communicative expression. But what does formative mean?

Type something here preferably in English

