Four Seasons in one sentence

Without looking I saw a couple
trying to wrap one last gasp sentimental scarf
around two halves of a known failing heart;
and while all was calm
they couldn’t see the holes
and the unravelling
had already made a faint but fatal start.

Their summer tilted towards autumn,
trees yielded soft leaf tears to the restless wind,
their conversation changed
and with four seasons in one sentence
I heard unspoken dreams
fall to pieces inside her
as silently they stood
one word away from each other
and the inevitable end.

© D. Archer. September 2012

5 thoughts on “Four Seasons in one sentence

  1. I found myself tearing up upon reading this. It’s something I feel I have been through, which is funny in a way, since we only have two seasons where I’m from. It’s chilling and beautiful. It’s odd, but it makes me smile now, too.

Type something here preferably in English

