New Ink

20131001-164524.jpg
It’s odd to think
my magnum opus lies
in liquid form
before my eyes.

Strange really when you think about the relationship between the ink, the pen and your brain and how they must be in harmony for ideas to germinate and escape across the virgin page.

At the start of every new notebook I am reminded of the closing lines to my favourite poem by Seamus Heaney, “Digging” a piece about his father. The poem ends….

I’ve no spade to follow men like them. Between my finger and my thumb the squat pen rests. I’ll dig with it”.

And that also reflects my style of writing, I’m not blessed with the ability to just write, my “poems” are well and truly dug out of the myriads of edits that litter my notebook.

One day I might just get it right.

[c] D. Archer. October 2013

One thought on “New Ink

Type something here preferably in English

