The Morrissey the More I forget!

The trouble with
This Charming Man when
trying to write poetry
listening to your iPod
at the same time

is that there is no Joy
Division in the New Order
of The Beautiful South;

The Morrissey
the more I forget
all my Stevie Wonder thoughts
come to nought;

I feel like The Jam on
a Jimmy Cliff sandwich;
my words Wither like Bill;
tears Weller in my eyes like Paul;

If I knew The Cure
I would Johnny Cash in all
my words
for one minute
with or without
U2.

© Copyright D. Archer October 2011 

This poem is also called “The curse of trying to write Poetry when listening to your iPod at the same time”, it’s like a driving your car and trying to do your ironing at the same time, impossible for me anyway..

7 thoughts on “The Morrissey the More I forget!

    • Thanks, I do like classical music but again I find myself trying to find rhymes for Rachmaninov, Schoenberg and Prokofiev which is a dam sight harder than rhyming Jam, Clash and Cliffe.

      Dave

Type something here preferably in English

